









Call for Papers:

4th World Bank/IFS/ODI Tax Conference: Global Tax Equity

September 22-23, 2022 online and in Washington, DC | submission by July 10, 2022

Inequality is one of the global challenges of our times. This phenomenon is increasingly cross-border in nature and suffers from a lack of data. What is the role of fiscal policy in dealing with this challenge, both internationally and domestically? Can new data sources inform the debate?

This conference brings together leading researchers and policy makers to discuss recent research on making the tax system more equitable at a global scale, including:

- Taxation of high-net-worth individuals, including wealth taxation;
- Tax transparency, beneficial ownership, offshoring and tax havens;
- Taxes on multinationals and large corporations, including BEPS pillar I and II;
- Distributional properties of environmental taxation;
- New forms of measurement (offshore wealth data, profit shifting, environmental tax incidence).

Program: The conference will feature a keynote address by Professor Gabriel Zucman, University of California at Berkely, research presentations and academic discussions, and a special session in which policy makers will present policy proposals and receive feedback from academics.

Format: The conference will take place in person, with limited remote presentation possibilities for presenters who are unable to travel due to Covid or vaccination-related regulation. Remote participation for non-presenting and non-discussing attendees will be facilitated.

Submission: We invite researchers (at academic and policy institutions) to submit a paper (preferable) or an extended abstract of two or more pages to mbreece@worldbank.org (subject "Tax Research Conference") by July 10, 2022. If you would like to invite policymakers connected to your research project, please provide their details (name, position, and a brief description of their background). We aim to notify the authors of selected papers by early August 2022.

Committee: Annette Alstadsæter, Pierre Bachas, Anne Brockmeyer, Matthew Collin, Hazel Granger, Oyebola Okunogbe, Claudia Vargas Pastor, David Phillips, Thiago Scot, Mahvish Shaukat, Yani Tyskerud.